Merino Tee Shirt

Itchy skin
Itchy skin. Photo by Orrling

I’m definitely not a cashmere kind of girl. No, I don’t normally wear wool next to my skin. Can’t cope with that tickly feeling.

It makes me itch just thinking about it.

I buy most of my walking gear from Mountain Warehouse, partly because I hate shopping and I find it’s easier to get to know one place and then you can just dash in and grab what you want, and get out again. Partly, too, it’s because I want to support a local shop in our town but, mainly, it’s because they sell very reasonably priced sports wear. And I discovered Mountain Warehouse were doing a special deal on merino blend tee shirts.

Merino wool is highly valued by walkers and mountaineers, especially as a base layer.

Apparently it is both warm and lightweight, and has the ability to wick moisture away from the skin. It’s also super-soft. Perfect really. But, unfortunately, merino products are usually very expensive. And I don’t normally wear wool next to my skin… so I hadn’t really considered merino as an option.

Merino Sheep. Photo courtesy of fir0002 - flagstaffotos.com.au
Merino Sheep.
Photo courtesy of fir0002 – flagstaffotos.com.au

 

But it’s hard to resist a good bargain.  And so I popped into Mountain Warehouse and examined the merino tee, spending some time rubbing the material between my fingers and then running my arm  along the fabric. The sales assistant must have wondered what I was up to.

It didn’t feel itchy. I thought it was worth a try.

That was some time ago and, of course, since then we’ve been blessed with the warmest autumn for years. But this week brought the first frosts of winter, and I decided to give my merino tee an outing.

Of course, as soon as I got it on I started itching. But, by the time I settled into my walk, I managed to forget all about it!

I felt nice and cosy, but then I usually am when I’m out walking. I’m not sure if the merino tee was warmer than an ordinary tee, but it certainly felt soft and comfortable. And any itchiness was only imaginary.

I will definitely wear it again. Might even buy some more merino products – as long as they’re  in the sales, of course.


7 thoughts on “Merino Tee Shirt”

  1. My favourite thing about Mountain Warehouse is that they’ve opened small stores in garden centres not too far from me. This saves on fuel, parking charges and generally means I can avoid city centres! It’s also handy for collecting online orders.

    Like

  2. After a lot of nagging from a friend I lashed out (about £20) on a “technical” T-shirt which is 100% acrylic. It is amazingly warm and light and dries almost instantaneously after washing. Also it is not itchy!

    Like

  3. I have four technical T’s from Henri Lloyd, Helly Hansen, Keela, and another (just as good/bad!) from Lidl, All supposed to wick away moisture/sweat and keep your skin from getting wet and chilled, and maybe they do, but despite underarm deodorant they all stink by the end of a walk such that I sometimes hesitate to go for a drink in the pub. To be clear, this is not a problem I encounter in everyday life, or when wearing cotton T’s. Merino is supposed to be much better than synthetic in the stinky stakes, and it’ll be my next purchase for sure.

    Like

    1. Women have an advantage in the stinky stakes. No only do we sweat less then men, and our sweat is less smelly, but we’re expected to shave our underarms. Having hairless armpits is, I think, the biggest help in reducing odours. (You might like to try this out!)

      Like

Your comments are welcome...

